Students Selected to All-State Band and Choir

Congratulations to the following students who were selected to the 2020 Washington Music Educators Association (WMEA) All-State Band, Junior All-State Band, All-State Choir and Junior All-State Choir.

All-State Band

  • Sean-Paul Brown (sophomore) – Wind Symphony, French Horn
  • Jericho De Jesus (senior) – Percussions Ensemble, Percussion
  • Julianna De Jesus (freshman) – Wind Symphony – Mallets and Timpani
  • Chase Kirby (senior) – Wind Symphony, Bassoon
  • Paul Nguyen (sophomore) – Wind Symphony, Snare Drum and Timpani
  • Jackson Smith (junior) – Wind Symphony, Tuba
  • Nick Wandling (senior) – Concert Band, Bass Clarinet

Junior All-State Band

  • Allie Treacy (eighth grade) – Band, Trombone

All-State Choir

  • Riley Grady, sophomore

Junior All-State Choir

  • Angelina Arasavelli, eighth grade
  • Sophie Florescu, eighth grade
  • Saryn Koch, seventh grade
  • Anna Walker, eighth grade

High school and middle school band, orchestra, choir and percussion ensemble students who were selected as All-State students will gather in Yakima, February 12-16. Students will have the opportunity to rehearse and perform in concert under the direction of world-renowned conductors. WMEA All-State musicians submitted recordings and were selected by a screening committee to participate in this event.

“Our choir students have worked extremely hard to develop their voices and build their performance skills,” Director of Choirs Jacob Malpocker said. “They have a great passion for singing and I am so proud of all the work that they are doing. I am proud to be their teacher and I can’t wait for their performances in February.”

(L-R): Riley Grady, Anna Walker, Sophia Florescu, Angelina Arasavelli and Saryn Koch

"I'm tremendously proud of our band students,” Director of Bands Jonathan Boysen said. “These students have worked hard to perfect their craft and I’m pleased that they were rewarded with this recognition.”

(L-R): Julianna De Jesus, Jericho De Jesus, Allie Treacy, Paul Nguyen, Chase Kirby, Jackson Smith, Nick Wandling and Sean-Paul Brown